Hello? Somebody Is Here. I Think I’ll Take a Nap

Charlie taking a nap.

Well, I’ve recovered from the foot thing. Walking normal again. Meanwhile, lots has happened and I have been busy as usual.

I can’t imagine being bored. I don’t seem to have enough hours in a day. I remember as a child, Pop ate his Sunday lunch, then trotted off to the living room sofa, lay back and snored away. I sat in the kitchen across from him and wondered why he was wasting so much time just sleeping during mid-day. After all, he did sleep at night as did the rest of the family. Even then, I felt the days were too short.

As I sit here, I am tired. I want a nap. But I have been too stubborn to take one. However, as time goes on, I believe I will soon submit to a siesta. My eyelids drop every once in a while and it is mid-afternoon.

Last night, at about midnight, I awoke, got water and returned to bed. The full moon allowed me to see enough not to bump into furniture. Soon after retiring once more, a voice called out, “Hello?”

Was I dreaming? I closed my eyes and again, “Hello?”

I quickly got up and went to the front door. It was closed. No one was there. “Hello?” Where? I call to Hubby, “Someone is here.” I went down to the kitchen. No one there. I opened the cellar door and to my surprise, the light was on. I had turned it on to assist my company in maneuvering the stairs with the platter of barbecued burgers and rolls served for dinner. That was hours ago. No one turned off the light. If the light was still on, the garage door might be open as well. I sucked in a breath and answered “Hello!” at the top of the stairs. “Hello?” came from below. It was a male voice.

Barefooted, I  quietly stepped down the stairs and hesitated at the bottom. Should I go around the corner into the basement and see this person? Perhaps he was outside in the driveway. “Hello!” I called. “Hello?” came from outside. I stepped into the lit basement and walked to the open garage doorway. A man of about thirty-five stood there with a flash light glowing from his smart phone. He appeared sober, and he stood about fifteen away. He stayed put.

“I’m sorry to wake you. But I’m not from around here and I’m lost. My aunt was driving and she was picked up on a DUI and they told me to walk. I’ve walked over two miles and I don’t know where I am. I finally saw your light and thought I could ask for your help. Can you help me. I’m not used to all these trees and woods that are around here and I’m really scared of wild animals coming out. Don’t be afraid of me, I’m a good guy. I won’t do anything bad. I’m just scared and I don’t know where I am.”

I asked him to stay. I went to the stairs and one of our guests was at the top with a quizzical look. Hubby appeared next to her. “I need a man down here please.” Hubby and the couple visiting all descended to investigate.

I returned to my midnight guest, grabbed a chair that was outside near the door and offered it for him to sit. He accepted. We questioned him and tried to decide what to believe and what to do. His name was Robert and he had to get home after a day at the Lobster Festival. He was about two miles from his destination. His phone had no service and he showed us that he had tried calling his wife eleven times with no luck. I got my phone. We called 411 for a taxi. 411 was not available. We couldn’t find the local taxi in the phone book. So I called 911. I explained the problem. The officer asked what the emergency was. I repeated my explanation. “You do NOT call 911 for a taxi.” I apologized, and asked who we could call, he gave me the sheriff’s number and hung up.

The sheriff’s dispatcher was sympathetic and gave us a number. Meanwhile the plan changed. We decided to call Robert’s wife who was at the cottage he was looking for. It took more than one call and finally, she answered. We asked if she knew Robert. She did. Robert spoke and had to beg her to pick him up.

We suggested he walk along the road to flag her down. As Robert parted, I said, “Don’t worry about wild animals. The only thing you have to worry about are the cars going by and they will avoid you.”

Robert thanked us and lit his way down our driveway into the moon-lit night.

Koala sleeping on a tree top

Koala sleeping on a tree top (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hubby and I could not sleep after that. After an hour, I sat up and waited a decent amount of time for Hubby to be still and obviously sleeping. He is aware of light and complains if it wakes him. So I am wary of turning it on unless necessary.

The door had been shut tight, therefore, I gently and firmly turned the knob. No squeak. I returned the knob to its original position. No squeak. I pulled the door open. No screaming hinges. Upon exit, I gently pulled the door towards me but did not shut it. Success!

I quietly descended to the living room in the dark. Once downstairs, I decided to read. As I fumble around, a light switched on in the stairway. I walked to the bottom of the stairs, “Hello?”

Our male guest was at the top step, bent over struggling to quickly don on his jeans. Was he planning on running down the stairs to grab the “intruder”? He stopped in a mid-pose. I imagined him tumbling down the stairs head first, like a ball.

“Jesus Christ, Jo. We thought someone was in the house!” He turned, disappeared into the guest room and shut the door.

“Sorry, I couldn’t sleep.” I returned to the living to read a novel for about an hour, then I tip-toed to bed and tossed most of the night. Perhaps I got four hours of sleep. We were pretty tired this morning. Especially my male guest who had to catch a 6:30 AM flight to return home.

I believe I will join Hubby for a little nap.

Leave a Reply

